Dead & Company at the Sleep Train Amphitheater

Zooming towards the end of their summer tour, Dead & Company made a stop at the Sleep Train Amphitheater in Chula Vista.As always, the Amphitheater is a spectacular place for a concert with it's great seating,  views and sound system.

The evening began with a spirited rendition of "Iko Iko", the catchy fun tune made famous in the early 1960's by the girl group The Dixie Cups.  Bob Weir's vocals sounded great. Their energy was infectious as the band transitioned into" Minglewood Blues", and the rest of set one, two,  and the encore "Black Muddy Water".

John Mayer gave an impressive performance loaded with polished  guitar playing and  vocals that jelled well with the band.  The heart of the group features guitarist Bob Weir, drummer Bill Kreutzmann, percussionist Mickey Hart, keyboardist Jeff Chimenti, and  bass player Otiel Burbridge. The whole crew sounded amazing, moving  back and fourth between electronic psychedelic sounds, blues and rock.  All this including a phenomenal, colorful light show happening throughout the evening.

NBA Hall of Famer and Grateful Dead fan  Bill Walton was on hand. It's easy to spot the 6' 11" famous local  "Dead Head" fan.

The final show of the tour  is on Saturday July 30, at The Shoreline  Amphitheater in Mountain View, Ca.

Dead & Company Set List  ~  July 27, 2016
Set 1:                                                                              
 1 .  Iko Iko
 2.   Minglewood Blues
 3.   Candyman
 4.   Big River
 5.   Friend of the Devil
 6.   Even So
 7.   Sugaree
  8.  The Music Never Stopped

Set 2:
 9.  Jam
10.  Truckin'
11.  Althea
12.  Estimated Prophet
13.  Playing in the Band
14.  Drums
15.  Space
16.  Going Down the Road Feelin' Bad
17.  A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall
18.  Throwing Stones
19.  Black Muddy River

    All photographs are copyrighted images.
Oteil Burbridge
John Mayer
John Mayer

John Mayer, Bill Kreutzmann & Bob Weir
Mickey Hart
Two fans on their way into the Sleep Train Amphitheater for the concert  7/27/2016.